My son, celebrated his 9th birthday last Nov. 17, it is also the eve of his first communion. We just had a simple celebration ( homemade Potato chips and pop corn mini party) we all had a blast :). The next day, it was my son's first communion, and my fervent wish to have his pre-school classmates pose for a picture with him came true! It was really great, even the parents ( who happened to be my friends too) were happy.
Sometimes the greatest exhilaration one feels happen during the most simplest moments of our lives. :)
Most of are family members are Octoberians. First is my brother-who celebrates his birthday on Oct. 16, then my dad, Oct.25, my husband, Oct. 29 and my sister in law, Oct. 30.
What really, never fails to amaze me is our chosen spouses- as if we have already talked about it that their birthdays will just fall on successive days. Well, who knew, maybe they might celebrate an Octoberfest -just one big birthday bash, beer and all- maybe...
My daughter celebrated her first birthday last September 8, 2008. We chose not to indulge ourselves by giving her a grand bash, like most families do here in the Philippines. We rather opted for the simpler, more meaningful and cozier set-up. A pre -birthday dinner with just my brother's family. After all, she does not like crowds and she might have thrown a fit if she saw people she hardly knew hovering about, attempting to take a good look of her.
Don't get me wrong though, our Addi ( short for Adeleine Danielle) is a cheerful little girl-when she warms up, she has this ready smile and chuckle. Her best friend and play pal is her big brother, we all adore her. My husband and I just decided to forgo with the traditional first birthday party-so as not to ruin her big day either.
Maybe for her second birthday, she can have her party, with balloons and a clown-whatever, but I guess, the real essence of having birthdays special is to be with the persons you love, party or not :)
I recently watched Boy and Kris' episode yesterday morning about Modern Day Heroes... They say that everyone has a Ninoy inside. Well, for some reason I felt a bit of a lump in my throat whenever they flash scenes from his U.S. speech or the Tarmac scene.
The throat lump, is not only because I am really moved by the scenes, but the sheer frustration that goes with it. Questions like, Where are we now? Where is this country headed? Will the situation get any better?
There is so much idealism in the youth but, sad to say, idealism cannot feed a hungry stomach,it cannot buy you the latest gadget nor provide tons of load for your cellphone; one has to learn to ride the tides of situations that catches you in order to survive. Trends come and go, and after that what?
Don't get me wrong, I admire their effort to instill charity and awareness through wearable goods; but merely buying a shirt won't be enough to instill Nationality and absolute love and passion for our Country, it should be ingrained in each person's very soul- and how? Through their families,exposure immersions from schools or organizations and through shared history.
I was in third grade when I heard about a certain "Ninoy" who died at MIA in school; the poor guy was shot and the military was on red alert- but good thing (or so I thought), they already killed the gunman. When I arrived home, my parents were shocked, and I kept hearing them that it was planned and a certain this and that was undoubtedly the mastermind. Hours after, we watched thousands of people on T.V. surrounding the truck which carry Ninoy Aquino's casket on it. The scene was so overwhelming, I bugged my parents about who this person is, and why is he treated as such. I know for a fact, in an eight year old's mind- that Marcos was a bad leader since he wouldn't even lift a finger to find people who disappear or get killed-since they we're against the government, that every one who talks against the government or the Marcos family would be sent to jail.
Two years after that, one February morning, my friend and I saw two army tanks speeding Limay's Roman Highway. It was clearly headed for Mariveles; earlier, there were talks amongst teachers that there was something happening in Manila. I grew worried, my dad was already working in Leyte since the fertilizer plant in Limay was shut down by the Marcoses. I went home and saw my mom, intently listening to DZRB Radio Veritas- there was no T.V. coverage since channel 4 was shut down too. Our neighbors were talking about the possible escape plan should everything went haywire and a full blown civil war would erupt. We all waited, and prayed. Cardinal Sin called for us Catholics to go and protect Crame, but obviously, even if we wanted to go, we were so far from Manila. We prayed the rosary instead. And then, a few days after, we heard that Marcos fled.
Things went rosy after that, our first taste of Pinoy pride-free at last! There were several coup attempts to topple the Aquino government but all failed.
After the Aquino administration came the Ramos Presidency,there were issues such as the oil price hike and the like. This is when I had my first taste of mass mobilization, classroom walk-outs, and rallies. Oddly enough, one general meeting among cigarette smoke hazed members of our organization; I realized, we are against monopolist oligarchs like Lucio Tan and yet they patronize his cigarettes and gin. We we're against American bases and yet we wear Levi's, Hanes shirts and Converse shoes which are clearly imported from that country. All talk, yet the very essence of our causes are not ingrained within ourselves.
Then came the Estrada Administration-we were sitting and following the impeachment hearing of Pres. Estrada-then, came the second envelope...we were all disappointed, the case wouldn't prosper due to mere technicality-again, people went out to the streets.
Almost a year ago, when I was 7 months pregnant with my daughter, there were talks that our 60 year old municipal hall will be torn down to pieces to give way with the new. The new municipal hall is modern looking, located at the back of the old one; the new structure was hastily put up where our former public market once stood.
My mother and I were disappointed, it would have been great if the idea was scrapped and just convert it to a museum and a library-for everybody. After all, the structure is still sturdy and it had survived typhoons, earthquakes, the Mt. Pinatubo ash fall and other natural calamities. The structure also served as an evacuation center for people who were victims of flood and fire. No doubt this old municipal hall can still take care of it's people for generations, compared to the new one-which cost us taxpayers millions of pesos.
I conducted interviews on several people who went to our store just to get their pulse on the matter; 90% of the people I talked to felt that it will be more practical to convert the structure into a museum and a library. The other 10% are cynical and would not even care a bit, since they know that the pockets are mightier than social service.
Thanks to my Franciscan education, I composed a letter suggesting what we have in mind and conducted a signature campaign. The signatures came, I furnished copies for the town council and the mayor- approaching the latter who later pointed that the basis of his decisions are whatever the town council decides upon.
I was given an opportunity to talk to them ( only I heard from another well meaning councilor that the decision has already been made-before I had the chance to be heard) By my lonesome I argued why they should not tear down the old municipal hall and rather convert it to a museum and library... As predicted, the decision had already been made, a few months after, it was torn down. I never regretted my move, I would rather see myself lose while fighting rather than not fight or do anything at all; I did what I can as a citizen of this country-failed or not, I did my duty.
August 21 is not just a date or a holiday. It signifies awakening from the long slumber of watching politicians do their thing, would you rather sit and watch and not care; or rise and do something- even in your little way?
Go ahead, buy the shirts- but may that also remind you that your country awaits for your move even if you buy the shirts or not.
My husband once told me, "it doesn't matter if we're not together on Valentine's Day, what's important is, whenever we're together-it feels like Valentine's day..." my heart melted-like putty-and we're not even arguing-just talking; it's just one of those mundane talks that sometimes makes you think and thank God you have this person beside you whom you'll love to grow old with.
I never thought married life is such a thrilling experience, all I knew was-after two or three years the enchantment will be gone or so I thought...
My husband sent me this text message yesterday and it read:
Love gives us reasons to do things that would otherwise be perceived as crazy. And justify things that others would see as absurd. It can even make me a poet...
I shook my head...after 10 years this guy is still nuts- I love it :)
The title of this blog should be renewing ties, yet I miss-typed ties for toes- thanks to my daughter's penchant of kicking the keyboard rest; which reminds me, motherhood changes lots of things.
I used to have a weekly manicure and pedicure when I was single, then, it became an every- other- week- ritual when I got married, then I became content doing it myself-once a month-now, with two kids- all went kaput ( except for cleaning it daily with a used toothbrush during showers).
I re-examined my battle-weary toes, yup, they're crooked, homely clean but lacking the verve and color it deserves- in short, boringly drab. Now what to do? I should get a foot spa and add some color to it, question is, when? Good question... I wear my baby, and she can't stand waiting for hours without jumping around and messing about( she's teething, and LOVES to gnaw on things) her dad loves the idea about the foot spa thing, but our problem is the schedule- he comes home only during his days off ( he's working in Manila- two and a half to three hours drive from our place) I often set the idea aside whenever he's home( irregardless of countless prodding) since I prefer to bond with them at home.
So again, when? Ask for a home service ?- nah, too expensive... I'll settle for the used toothbrush and my pedicure set instead - homely clean, mommy toes :)
I had just been busy renewing ties from my former high school classmates-thru the web. This social networking proves that it's in fact a small world after all! I also realized that way back, I have never been the "exclusive"type who belongs to a small group of friends, in fact, now I realized that my so called group is just part of my humongous group of friends.
(Funny how my so-called friends even considered breaking up the group or removing me from it since they have joined another-or have another interest and made me all left out- I dunno what you'd call them after doing that to me, yet oddly enough, I loved them- in a way-heck- what would you expect from a bunch of 14-15 year olds?!) And then now, we're renewing our ties.
I have never been the it girl type, nor the intellectual one, I just try my best to be efficient during group works and be as cooperative as I can. I'm neither a saint nor a sinner, just someone in between.
I had my share of highs and lows but undoubtedly my high school life shines and is the centerpiece of my growing up years.
It has been months already and I've been pretty much busy with house or lot hunting. We already have plans on moving out years ago when I got a job at a local college. Sadly, it was set aside because my dad was sick and he died last August 2006; my mom told me that my big brother and his family should be the one staying with her(and not us). So now we are at it again, looking for probable and practical places to finally build our nest.
If only I have tons of money, I would've bought properties from all over the world, but sad to say, we can only loan so much from PAGIBIG. In my house/lot hunting foray I learned several things: 1. Foreclosed properties are cheap, but most of the time, there are illegal occupants that comes with it that you should shoo away. 2. Not all cheap properties are really cheap, sometimes the area is easily flooded, that's why the owners want to dispose it immediately. 3. It is better to keep your emotions to yourself and not be transparent so that you could make a good deal out of it. 4. Having extra cash for reservations and or down payment is a MUST-so that you wouldn't miss a good opportunity. 5. Bring your kid with you so that they could also comment on the property you're looking at; sometimes, the little things are ignored by the "big" people. 6. Always make sure that the lot you are looking for must be: safe, secure, no unruly neighbors, it has value for your money, good re-selling point and, should be within near proximity of transportation, schools and markets. 7. Paying in cash means more discounts and areas for bargaining.
I guess that's why we still haven't found what we're looking for (cue U2 song)
I never thought having a broadband connection would make me a certified netizen. Because of this, I have the freewill to update my friendster, multiply and facebook accounts- sad to say, the numerous drafts that I have created for my blog has long been delayed of posting. Well, here are some, I dunno of any existing human being who actually even took a peek of my writing inanities, save for seeing my profile picture- oh well, indulge :)
Tuesday, July 1, 2008
I have recently discovered over Youtube this amazing food site called foodwishes.com, my husband would love this... the links on this blog also unleashed the foodie in me that just by gawking at the images made me hungry... ciao
What is it with I.D.’s that got me so pissed?After all, I’m currently not working, second, I’m a stay at home mom, and third, I basically depend on my husband’s earnings.
The phone bill is addressed to me and I am the one in-charge of keeping bills and other payments and what not, up to date; which also means that, if I need to apply for a broadband to our current phone company, it will be just a piece of cake- since the telephone bill indicates my name on it-NOT.
It all started with a simple telephone call from our phone company’s representative.The guy informed me that they have a promo, P999 all in broadband promo- broadband + landline in one, no hassle, no worries, you have unlimited internet access all the time- and it’s broadband, not this dial up that I’m currently using and all you have to pay is P999.
Sounds appealing, in fact, when I told my husband about it, he agreed right away.So when this representative made a follow-up call, I informed them our decision and in a few days time, they sent me forms to fill-up and sign.
May 14, 2008, with all the forms filled up and signed, and the advance payment had been made by me, there came the problem.I need to attach a copy of my two valid I.D.’s.I told the agent that what I can provide them is a photocopy of my residence tax receipt (sedula) and a claim slip for my SSS I.D. since, SSS haven’t mailed my I.D. yet because- according to the woman whom I’ve talked with on the phone- their I.D. card machine broke down.
The agent told me that what they need is a valid I.D. with my picture on it- and I informed him that- that IS my problem, I’m currently NOT employed and I DO NOT HAVE any I.D.’s, all I have are my documents-like birth certificate, marriage contract, and the birth certificates of my children to prove that I am ME.I do not even have a postal I.D. since nobody is constantly sending packages or parcels in my name, and my voter’s I.D. is also just a slip of paper that got damaged in the laundry.The single identification card that’s got my name and picture on it is my expired, invalid Insurance Agent I.D. it’s four years old and God forbid- I looked terrible in it.
So the guy told me to have a copy of that I.D. sent to the business office so that everything will be processed- just for document support.And so I did it a week later; another week after it, a woman called asking for my valid I.D. I explained to her that the agent and I agreed that the documents that had been submitted are already fine, since I am not currently employed.
Yesterday, another woman called for my valid I.D. she reasoned that they cannot process my “request” since I have not submitted a complete set of requirements- I got so pissed that I told her that if the validity of my identification still remains a problem, and if my broadband connection will not happen within this week, then I guess I have to cancel my application and shall expect a full refund within the week.Her tone changed and she informed me that she will request the agent to make a follow up on my broadband application.
I sent the agent an SMS asking when will my broadband connection be accomplished and repeated what I told the woman I’ve talked to earlier.I also made a few calls to their customer service, then here in their local office and their city office- where this agent comes from.The lady whom I talked with at their city office was receptive, and she told me that she will inform my agent regarding my problem.She also promised to call tomorrow to give me updates regarding my broadband application.
The agent in question called a few hours after, he apologized for not replying to my sms since he was giving trainings that time; he informed me that my broadband application had already been in the head office and I can expect the connection be done by tomorrow.
Now a day had passed, the woman I’ve talked to yesterday called me up this morning and, she informed me that the connection shall be accomplished either today or tomorrow- I’m still waiting… and it’s 5 pm already…oh well, tomorrow’s another day…
More on being a mom, this was sent to me by a dear friend:
MOM - JOB DESCRIPTION
This is hysterical. If it had been presented this way, no one would have done it!!!!
POSITION: Mother, Mom, Mama, Mommy, Ma
JOB DESCRIPTION: Long term, team players needed, for challenging permanent work in an often chaotic environment. Candidates must possess excellent communication and organizational skills and be willing to work variable hours, which will include evenings and weekends and frequent 24 hour shifts on call. Some overnight travel required, including trips to primitive camping sites on rainy weekends and endless sports tournaments in far away cities. Travel expenses not reimbursed. Extensive courier duties also required.
RESPONSIBILITIES: The rest of your life. Must be willing to be hated, at least temporarily, until someone needs $5. Must be willing to bite tongue repeatedly. Also, must possess the physical stamina of a pack mule and be able to go from zero to 60 mph in three seconds flat in case, this time, the screams from the backyard are not someone just crying wolf. Must be willing to face stimulating technical challenges, such as small gadget repair, mysteriously sluggish toilets and stuck zippers. Must screen phone calls, maintain calendars and coordinate production of multiple homework projects. Must have ability to plan and organize social gatherings for clients of all ages and mental outlooks. Must be willing to be indispensable one minute, an embarrassment the next. Must handle assembly and product safety testing of a half million cheap, plastic toys, and battery operated devices. Must always hope for the best but be prepared for the worst. Must assume final, complete accountability for the quality of the end product. Responsibilities also include floor maintenance and janitorial work throughout the facility.
POSSIBILITY FOR ADVANCEMENT &PROMOTION: Virtually none. Your job is to remain in the same position for years, without complaining, constantly retraining and updating your skills, so that those in your charge can ultimately surpass you
PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE: None required unfortunately. On-the-job training offered on a continually exhausting basis.
WAGES AND COMPENSATION: Get this! You pay them! Offering frequent raises and bonuses. A balloon payment is due when they turn 18 because of the assumption that college will help them become financially independent. When you die, you give them whatever is left. The oddest thing about this reverse-salary scheme is that you actually enjoy it and wish you could only do more.
BENEFITS: While no health or dental insurance, no pension, no tuition reimbursement, no paid holidays and no stock options are offered; this job supplies limitless opportunities for personal growth and free hugs for life if you play your cards right.
Our phone company’s internet service crashed.Just when I was about to e-mail Mother’s Day greetings to my friends and relatives for Sunday-what a bummer!My cousin became a "club member" last April and she’s recovering from a set back that really kept us vigil with prayers and made me check my e-mail- more often for news.Alas, it’s already Monday and it’s kind of frustrating not to do what a girl needs to do.
I never got the chance to greet them, and a belated greeting is not really my thing.Anyway, for me, everyday is Mother’s Day, contrary to what others and commercialism perceived this “holiday” would be it’s not really a day off of sorts (since I always end up doing the dishes anyways).
Mother’s day for me is when:
·I hollered for the _nth time for my son to practice his math, brush his teeth, and fix his bag for his summer class, yet he manages to clean up his toys- on his own
·He “forgets” his bottle inside his backpack and constantly bugs his baby sister while the latter quietly plays alone-yet he manages to keep an eye on her when it’s mommy’s time to cook
·He suffered allergies and constantly sneezes at an ungodly hour, or had an asthma attack right before a family event, yet he independently gets his inhaler and reminds me that it’s time to take his Seretide.
·My baby daughter’s crankiness due to teething provokes her to pull anybody’s hair within her arms reach, and penchant for biting my nipple to the fullest before and after feeding.But after getting what she needs she would smile and say “mymy” her term for mommy.
·Her interest in whatever “mommy does” or wherever “mommy goes to” that prevents me to cook or clean the house as scheduled- which brings me to the question- Is there such a thing as “schedule”?
·At the end of a busy day, my kids miraculously sleep an hour earlier than their usual sleep.
Someone said that being a mother is a thankless job, I agree, but…It is often the little things that count- and that is gratitude enough for me.
My family loves going to malls, sometimes in just a spur of the moment; we are on our way to Pampanga (which is an hour and a half bus ride from our place) and just plain window shop, or if we want to splurge a bit- to Manila.
Malling (as we call it here in the Philippines) is the new term for going for a walk in a mall.Malls are considered modern-day parks -- after all, with temperatures rising from 35-37 ° C outside- families would prefer to stay inside the mall to enjoy the air conditioning and do a bit of window shopping, enjoy an afternoon snack in the confines of a safe and cool place, at the fast food or restaurant of your choice; and, it’s also a welcome break for such a ho-hum life that we have here in the province.
Which brings us to the question- How on earth will we be able to do that if you only commute and have a six month old – breastfed baby in tow? Simple, a sling or a soft carrier would do the trick.
I find baby wearing practical, we can do lots of things such as going to malls, accompanying my 8 year old son to his swimming class, running errands or just doing regular stuff inside the house--together.My little Addi is less fuzzy and more attached because of this.What I’m currently using is Snugli by Gerry baby products; my mom- in law gave it to me when my son was just 5 months old.We actually never used it for our Jaygee because – frankly at that time, we don’t know how to use the cradle position- and he doesn’t like the sitting position since it didn’t fit him well (he’s a big baby).
So when our daughter came, I chanced upon an article in the internet regarding baby wearing and how it soothes a fuzzy baby.Tried it with my daughter and used the cradle position at first.My tea cup princess opted to use it while sitting.I carried her around the house and she liked it, she even fed and slept inside the carrier while I was doing my usual sweeping, I even sewed a few pillow cases while wearing her.
After that, I’ve been “wearing” her ever since.It’s also practical since I can lift the front flap when I’m feeding her, for privacy; would you believe that I went about my errands with her feeding discreetly?It’s also suitable for the tropical weather since air ventilation is achieved because of the opening on both ends, it can also double as a changing pad.
My Snugli has yet to be further tested though- others might find the clasps too unstable since it’s only made of hard plastic- so I’m not really recommending it to be used on heavier and bigger babies.Slings do that, according to an avid baby sling user, even a six year old kid can be carried on a sling when he/she’s too tired of walking.
I still have to buy a real sling-but for now, this carrier would do…
I once e-mailed this to a friend when I was 7 months pregnant with my little girl, probably out of sheer exasperation that no one in our town even mind what was happening. (They were about to demolish our old municipal town hall to give way to the new)Imagine! Instead of converting it to a museum and public library, the geniuses of our town council opted to demolish it to widen our town plaza?!No wonder our town is going to the dogs! As a bored citizen educated in a Franciscan Institution, I stepped forward and did what I was taught to be right. Here it goes:
Hi girl! Sorry if I haven't e-mailed you this picture agad- I have a pretty interesting and hectic week kasi:
Tues-Follow up check -up with my Pulmonologist and OB GYN I also went to SSS for my maternity and my mom's death benefit
Wed- I conducted a signature campaign to several barangays in our town, asking the Municipal counselors to go for the preservation of our old Municipal hall and convert it into a museum and public library.
Thurs- Gathered some signatures and went to our municipal hall for my unscheduled--As the counselors put it-“privileged speech”
Even I am surprised that everything happened within this week. I am not sure if I have convinced the Municipal Counselors to consider our voice, but I am hopeful- considering the number of counselors who are listening intently to what this “bored” pregnant woman was saying in front of them yesterday.
I am also surprised that I am capable of doing such things...But to think that they are demolishing a 70 year old building which served as our town's landmark and quasi evacuation center without having a clear plan as to what will replace the structure? Pretty stupid huh? Well, I still have to gather signatures next Monday, hopefully our town Mayor will change his mind and opt for public service instead of other interests- after Monday, Pahinga na ako, I'll just update the signatories and show them what kind of counselors they have elected.
That's the problem when I'm “bored” I tend to do stuff. My mom thought I have plans to run for public office since it’s near election time- but I don't have any- I'd rather be this ordinary citizen doing ordinary stuff, and making sure that every hard-earned peso my husband “contributes” to this freakin’ country will go to the right hands and serve them- citizens of this country well…
Till my next “boredom”
Don’t get me wrong about my “boredom”.I am basically bored seeing people do nothing, I am simply bored because only a few EVEN CARED what our present public officials are doing, I am bored that the same literacy problem had been existing for decades and made even worse every year.I am bored at the present state of our education system-- that only the First Two Sections are the ones prioritized and the ones in the lower section sadly have been constantly left behind.I am bored that the present states of cultural and historical knowledge of our generation have fizzled-- nor they even cared to do something about it.I am bored of the common sight that public official this and that had acquired a new car, SUV, or property in so in so; or have a new dealership business of this and that beverage, or a big house worth millions in so and so.
-The signature campaign proved to be futile since I was informed by a reliable source that the decision had been made already –even before speaking in front of them.But heck, it felt good to voice out what we felt about the demolition thing-even by my lonesome.Now the town hall is reduced to rubbish, we still don’t know what the mayor and his counselors would do about it- probably the biggest plaza in Bataan?
I know that in this country of ours-elected officials become kings who are to be served than to serve by the very own people who feed their families- I wouldn’t blame scores of people immigrating to other countries since the people whom they expect and entrust their votes only squander and forget the responsibilities entrusted to them post election time.Given the chance, my family and I would rather look for a country that deserves our taxes too, so that it wouldn’t be too painful to work and see our pay slips- being robbed by the real enemies of the state.
Things got really hectic for me these past few months, my kids and I got sickly because of the weird weather condition, imagine, summer weather in January-February? My son has to catch up with his lessons, projects, and quizzes missed in school.
Maybe this is what you call the effects of the fast depleting ozone layer; the hardest part to realize is that- it is man-made. Our children suffer because of older people’s irresponsibility and insensitivity to the welfare of others.
I remember my late father; he would rather let our hired gardener bury leaves and other dead branches in the ground to decompose it than burn it- a trend here in our place, since the garbage collection is far from frequent. Before anyone invented the word organic farming, my dad had long been practicing it. He used cow dung to fertilize other plants which he saw would need additional nutrition. He’s an avid tree-planter and has an impressive collection of Calamansi (Philippine Lemon), Chico, Papaya, Mango, Buko, Suha and other trees- all in our soon to be sold lot.
He instructs our hired gardener not to burn leaves and grass trimmings because he knew that burning it would affect the lungs of children who are still developing theirs, he also considers our neighbor’s right to clean air- now if only they think the same way as my father, then I guess, there will be world peace.
Sadly, they don’t, some people in our country think differently, if someone comments on their actions such as their habit of burning trash, then they see you as some snooty person trying to up-man them. Some might object on this but it is true, some people are so insensitive yet, when you tap their backs just raise a point or correct them; they become hyper sensitive- it’s pretty crazy really- even if you have the right reasons and good intentions.
Maybe this attitude has a lot to do with economics and other outside elements that writing about it might put you to sleep. Or maybe, this way of thinking reflects the culture you absorbed in one’s family, which perhaps why I care enough to write about it. I’m not pretty sure someone actually reads my blogs and comment about it, but if ever, everybody’s free to voice out their opinion on this.
Eons ago, as I was enjoying my downtime T.V. viewing, I chanced upon Oprah Winfrey’s show.
They were discussing about a book called The Secret- that it caught their interest since it talks about perceptions and visualizations-like what you feel, do, or think about today may affect how your life will be in the future; that life is just a cycle- if you think positive and only dwell on the positive side of things, then the universe shall give back only positive things to you. I sort of dozed of… (What a bummer!)
It really didn’t caught my interest that much since with all the negativity that surrounds us everyday (remember that I’m living in third world country)- the news about our freakin’ Government official’s corruption , taxes that are unreasonable (we have to pay taxes whenever we buy medicines, even basic commodities such as food are being taxed), our neighbor’s penchant for contributing air and noise pollution ( they burn their trash and sing as loud as they can whenever they rent a videoke machine) how on earth can one be idealistic and positive if you have to deal with this crap every single day?
I totally forgot about it until yesterday. My husband went home a day ago with a new perspective in life-they just had a seminar and it tackles The Secret, he’s got an assignment called the vision board where you put pictures of your life’s material goals. It really caught my interest too, imagine, just think about what you want in life every single day, brush all the negativity aside and, without knowing it, everything will be put into place, just like that! Well as simple as may sound, it’s quite difficult to remain consistent- if one analyzes it- a non-believer might think that you have gone bonkers or something.
But I guess it’s worth a try- who knew? I might be earning big bucks without leaving our house just by writing these blogs? Or maybe, I can sell native baby slings (which I will discuss on my next blog) and start the baby wearing trend here in the Philippines; or my long aspired website catered for Filipinos overseas will come to life and be the first one to have an extensive network of partners both here and abroad making me the first Filipino net tycoon?
We have a saying here “libre lang mangarap” or, as you would put it in English “it is free to dream”. On my opinion, with strong faith and perseverance- everything is possible.
I have been contemplating on a lot of things today. My son is sick, he has a terrible cough and a really itchy throat, and his periodical exams will be two days from now. I already nebulized him since that is the first thing to do to prevent his asthma attack (according to his pediatrician) and as an asthmatic myself, a dose of salbutamol eases my throat and helps liquefy sticky stuff on my throat. In a few hours we’ll be going to his doctor for his check up, I just hope it’s not anything really serious. Another thing that bothers me is that my husband’s payday is four days away, and I only have a few peso coins and a rosary in my handbag. Our health insurance is still not activated since they haven’t given us our health cards.
As these thoughts run through my mind, I saw my baby daughter, she had already woken up and has this bright smile cooing and raising her hands to play with the curtains softly swaying from the cool breeze. She’s always in a good mood whenever she wakes up in the morning, never grumpy, always smiling-just like her brother when he was a baby.
I informed my husband that I might bring our son to his doctor; he told me that he’ll go home today; he apparently decided to take a day off. He got promoted last week and has been really tired working 12 hour shifts. He told me that he’ll meet us up in Dr. O’s clinic so that we can pay the necessary Dr’s fee. Wow! I said to myself, one minute I was worried about how I’m going to pay up all these expenses and the next minute here’s my husband coming to my rescue. God is really good!
I have this irritating habit to forgo mundane chores for something much more interesting and (I believe) more important stuff to do; like playing with my 4 month old daughter, and teaching and helping out my 8 year old son with his lessons- now if my daughter is asleep and my son is in school, I would rather clean our kitchen a bit- and I mean- a bit (which only involves dish washing) and clean our house a bit- READ –sweep the floor.
I’m not so big in cleaning and I’m not a fan of everyday spic and span, I’m not the Susie homemaker, the ideal mom who would always clean after the mess had been made by my son or husband- who do they think I am, a slave?! I’m not the type who wanted my computer area super clean- actually it’s a bit dusty – I’d rather write- if opportunity permits, than do the laundry.
Last December I got the chance to find a maid; she’s 22 years old, married, and with a two year old kid. She’s ok; helps keep the house looking like a house and not a cave from the boondocks (as my mom exasperatingly declares whenever she enters). Now it has been two weeks since she last appeared for work. She got sick and I don’t know what happened, she left a word two days ago that she’ll be reporting for work yesterday- but again- no helper appeared- thus- my laundry piled up.
I got word from my son’s school service driver (who knew her family) that she’s not going to work for us anymore, uuh-duh? H told us that this girl won’t be showing up since as I believe:
a) Her daughter’s birthday is over b) The Holiday season is over c) Her husband’s birthday is also 2 days ago d) She had Ebola virus that she’s going to die in a week e) She doesn’t need the extra money since the Holiday season is over.
So much for people like her, it's hard when these things get to your inner circle-situations you would rather get rid off.
Until now, I’m still on a search to find a reliable household help, but for now, I guess I have to be content in doing the laundry… myself.
I accidentally browsed the line housewife on my profile, and guess what?! there are 2000 housewives blogging their hearts out. You can also say that there are 2000 creative housewives out there which got bitten by the blogging bug ( I dare you to try saying bitten by the blogging bug 10 times without making a mistake -ha!)
I have P 9.00 on my coin purse and lots of love from my family.
Others may see that yours truly is going nuts, imagine, with less than a dime?How can she feed her family for crying out loud?!
Actually, the ref. is fully stocked for two weeks.My electricity bill and water bill is fully paid, my kids’ supplies are covered- specially my daughter’s diapers.
And all I got now is nine pesos on my coin purse, lots of love from my family
“But it’s only the first week of school…” he muttered, concern lining his forehead.
“Oh don’t worry, wait till we get on the third week, maybe we can create a contingency measure.”I assured him half incredulous half believing myself.“Maybe if we buy a whole block of it then will get through March, I’ll just cut it to small pieces-then we’ll be all set…” I further added.
“I could not understand why a 7 year-old kid loose a chunk of rubber eraser in three days!” my husband said, flailing his arms in the air. “Yup, three days, 7 year old, 1 big chunk of rubber eraser... Our son told me that he placed it in his pencil case but it suddenly vanished into thin air…amazing…” I said, shaking my head as I sit on the rocking chair staring at the ceiling.
“Well, this time we’re still lucky, I do not have an idea if we will be this lucky in the following months- maybe now the eraser, next, a pencil then after a few weeks his notebook then maybe a book or two”… I smartly quipped as I rose and inspected our son’s pencil case.“Oh look honey; he still has his sharpener intact!Things aren’t so bad at all! ” as I proudly show my husband our son’s blue sharpener, with its case, only to find out that its only the case which I am holding- no sharpener beneath.
Finding the right maid is like finding the right mate.Sometimes you go on the wrong foot and everything ends in a disaster, sometimes it’s ho-hum but you have the feeling that something is missing.Sometimes you thought this is it- the one you have been looking for- but for a few months you’ll end up looking for another.
I have set my sights to one of our former employees in our store, she’s efficient, a good friend, she’s loyal to my parents-her former employers -problem is, she has a family and with three small kids and a Can’t- Manage- Simple- Stuff- guy for a husband- talk about tough luck.She would’ve been perfect- if her kids are all grown up and can manage their own home -even while their parents are both working.
I could go on for all the things I hate about all my former household helps.The first one was quite old, she’s a genius when it comes to laundry specially hand- washing, and ironing; but she’s not too keen when it comes to cleaning, (she uses downy to mop our floors) and rarely wipes the surfaces as instructed to her; one day she just sorta “handed-over” her sister –in-law to me because she has something to do for the weekend, and she never came back- she even brought with her my son’s sandals that I let her unemployed (or so she said) husband repair just to help her out; turned out that this husband of hers is gainfully employed at a shoe factory in Marikina.
Now, her sister in law first appeared to be alert, very courteous and very receptive- which, at first we appreciate but gradually turned out to be such a slob!She’s terrible with household chores (again- another avid fan of downy and, barely deaf at instructions) and, laundry (she once soaked our plain white shirts for three days, and my son’s cloth diapers in this very potent powdered bleach, it ended up having holes in them, not to mention having a steady culture of fungus-eeiw) - Then, there’s this incident where I actually saw one of our soiled trapos in-between neatly folded, newly ironed handkerchiefs! I guess the only thing that she excels at is asking for an advance (she asked for an advance after her first three working days) and eating.
Now, my most recent addition to this roster of horrible maids is a classic-again, this person appears to be the epitome of a perfect maid- my age range (30-35 yrs. Old), alert, receptive, efficient, very disciplined, and has no irritating habit of asking for an advance- or so I thought, after almost two months of working, she gradually evolved from cautious employee to a very bossy employee. She never helped my mom with the trash, she never cleaned her mug or used plate for Merienda whenever she irons our clothes and she sold our used bottles and old stuff to the junkshop without our permission.She even borrowed the slippers that my son is using and telling him to use the one that I put in the trash- prompting my child to take his slippers from the trash and wear it.I was so angry that I want to fire her immediately- but then again, to whom shall I hand over the laundry? Since I can’t barely manage especially right now that I’m about to give birth in September, I just have to grin and bear it –for now.
I envy one of my friends- after my hapless text message asking everyone I knew if they could refer somebody to me she texted back, asking why.So, I told her my horrid story.After reassuring me that she would help out, she told me how happy and contented she is now with her maid of two months.She told me that this person takes very good care of them.
Upon waking up every morning-she would find that breakfast is ready, and mind you- fried rice, she always feeds them with rice and breakfast stuff every morning.All of her girls stuff is ready so that all her daughters have to do is eat, get dressed and go to school.My dear friend didn’t even need to lift a finger since everything is being done by her trusty maid-even cooking lunch, Merienda and dinner, washing up the kids, cleaning and laundry, going to the market (she can juggle the food budget well) and watching over the girls while my friend is attending her nursing class-not to mention sewing and replacing all her old pillowcases!All of these for just P2000 a month as her maid’s starting salary (to think that I have to pay mine P2500, no cooking, no marketing, just laundry and cleaning, she wouldn’t even bother looking after my kid).She told me that she immediately gave her a raise so her maid’s pay now is already P2500.How I wish I could also have that kind of blessing.
I learned a thing or two about my friend’s experience, 1st- not to be too generous immediately with the helpers, and 2nd, always make it a point to communicate well especially with regards to the rules of the house and what you expect them to do.In my friend’s case, she’s lucky because she hired a helper that is efficient, can manage well without constant supervision and can work with heart-qualities that I find rare nowadays.
I hope I’ll get lucky and find this ideal maid- tomorrow’s a new day.
By the way… our latest maid runneth with no particular valid reason- just a short text message thather aunt came back from Laguna and asked for her company “ sinasama po ako ng tiya ko, di ko na po mapa-hindian..”According to her text;
I have no idea where this aunt of hers took her- to hell perhaps?